The founders and interim executive of ALWU are a group of young legal workers from Wellington and Auckland. We represent a cross-section of the profession, including big and boutique firms, public sector agencies, and barristers’ chambers.

We intend to hold our first AGM in August, when a permanent executive will be elected.

The members of our interim executive are:

  • Hayley Coles
  • Owen Wilkinson
  • Honor Kerry
  • Allanah Colley
  • Harrison Cunningham
  • Josie Te Rata
  • Laura Taylor
  • Bridget Sinclair
  • Morgan Evans
  • Bridget McLay
  • Ollie Neas
  • Tess Upperton

Being a lawyer is difficult, and can be incredibly isolating. We need to work on changing the culture so that all lawyers feel like they’ve got someone in their corner. I think the ALWU is a great initiative, and I completely support their kaupapa. It is time the legal profession stopped treating marginalised lawyers unfairly, and discriminating against them, and started treating them with the respect and dignity they deserve.”

Robyn Zwaan Principal, Zwaan Legal